Bregaglia History

From agriculture to electricity

storiasopra

Renowed since Roman times, Bregaglia's Septimer Pass and Malögin Road were used as thoroughfares from South to North. First, the Como prefecture annexed Bregaglia, then after 350 AD, it became part of Raetia.

Over the following centuries, Bregaglia was passed on from the Ostrogoths to the Lombards. In 960 AD, Kaiser Otto I presented Bregaglia to the Bishop of Chur, who then took control over the routes going over the Julier and Septimer Passes. In 1387, a paved road was constructed over the Septimer Pass from Tinizong to Piuro.

In the middle of the 16th century , Bregaglia joined the Reformation. In 1546, the selection of Italian as the official language favored political independence. During the period of "Torbidi Grigioni" the local population experienced some difficult times, especially in 1621, with the Spanish invasion. Traditional staples of the local economy were chestnuts. Transport was also an important part of the economy, but lost its importance with the opening of the Gotthard Pass. As a result, the locals pursued agriculture as the new line of business.

During the last 150 years, the valley has experienced large-scale emigration with the population falling from 2170 in 1803, to 1434 in 1990. Simultaneously, the once dominant agricultural sector gradually lost its importance. On the bright side, tourism and the utilization of hydropower have stimulated the economy by creating new jobs and financial stability.

storiasott

Tourist Information in Stampa

Stampa Tourist Information
Bregaglia Engadin
Strada Principale 101
7605 Stampa

T +41 81 822 15 55
F +41 81 822 16 44
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


 

 

Livecams

Geschichte des Bergells

Vergangenheit und Gegenwart

storiasopra

Schon den alten Römern bekannt, die den Septimerpass und die Straße des Malögin für ihre Übergänge nutzten, wurde das Bergell zuerst der Präfektur Como unterstellt und nach 350 Raetia.

In den folgenden Jahrhunderten kam es unter die Herrschaft der Ostgoten, dann unter die der Langobarden. 960 schenkte Kaiser Otto I. es dem Churer Bischof, der somit auch die Straßen des Septimer und des Julier/Giulia kontrollierte.Im Jahr 1387 wurde von Tinizong nach Piuro über den Septimerpass eine gepflasterte Straße gebaut.

Gegen Mitte des 16. Jhs. schloss sich das Tal der Reformbewegung an. Als 1546 Italienisch zur offiziellen Amtssprache erklärt wurde, förderte dies auch die politische Unabhängigkeit. In der Zeit der "Torbidi Grigione" erlebte die Bevölkerung schwierige Momente, besonders als die spanischen Truppen 1621 zerstörend einfielen. Traditionelle Grundlagen der lokalen Wirtschaft waren die Esskastanie und der Transport, der jedoch mit der Eröffnung der Gotthardstraße an Wichtigkeit einbüßte.

Deshalb sah man sich um einen neuen Erwerbszweig um und entdeckte die Landwirtschaft. In den letzten 150 Jahren litt das Tal unter starker Auswanderung (1803 zählte man 2170 Einwohner, 1990 nur 1434) und die Landwirtschaft verlor immer mehr an Bedeutung. Die Nutzung des Wassers zur Stromerzeugung und der Tourismus schufen neue Arbeitsplätze und neue Verdienstmöglichkeiten 

storiasott

Öffnungszeiten

Stampa Tourist Information
Bregaglia Engadin
Strada Principale 101
7605 Stampa
T +41 81 822 15 55
F +41 81 822 16 44
Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist vor Spambots geschützt! Zur Anzeige muss JavaScript eingeschaltet sein!

Ganzjährig
Montag bis Freitag 09.00 - 11.30  / 14.00 - 17.30
Samstag und Sonntag geschlossen

 

 

Livecams